Our Board

Beacon’s board currently has four members:-

Matthew Bowcock, CBE.

Matthew Bowcock is a trustee of The Philanthropy Workshop, Philanthropy Impact and the Watts Gallery. He was previously Chairman of UK Community Foundations, a member of the Philanthropy Review Board and a Council Member of Arts Council England. In 2012 he authored a report for the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, “Digital Giving in the Arts – Democratising Philanthropy.”  Through the Hazelhurst Trust he has focused on community projects, arts for social impact and developing more and better philanthropy. His background is in technology entrepreneurship, company start-up and investment and he has established several businesses in Australia, the US and the UK.

Gay Huey-Evans, OBE.

Gay Huey Evans is Deputy Chair of the Financial Reporting Council and serves on the Board of directors of Aviva plc, Conoco Phillips and Itau BBA International plc. Gay was formerly Vice Chairman of the board and non-executive chairman, Europe, of the International Swaps and Derivatives Association, Inc. (ISDA) (financial trade association). From April 2008 to October 2010 she was Vice Chairman, Investment Banking & Investment Management at Barclays Capital. Prior to that Gay was President of Tribeca Ltd and head of governance at Citi Alternative Investments (EMEA) and Director of the Markets Division at the Financial Services Authority between 1998-2005. She held various senior management positions with Bankers Trust Company in New York and London between 1984-1998). Gay is passionate about giving back and has been involved with various non-profit organisations. She currently serves as a Trustee of Wellbeing Women, and previously, a Trustee of Wigmore Hall, co-opted Trustee of Tate, Trustee of Benjamin Frankin House and Bucknell University.

David Sheepshanks, CBE.

David assumed the Chair of UK Community Foundations in 2013, and has held a number of high profile board positions in business, sport and charity, including Chairman of Ipswich Town Football Club and Chairman of the Football League. Today he is Chairman of St George’s Park (The National Football Centre) and FA Learning, the educational arm of The FA responsible for Coach Education and Professional Development, and a Regional Chair of Coutts amongst a number of non-executive positions. He was the Founder and first Chair of The Ipswich Town Charitable Trust and one of the founding trustees for The Suffolk Community Foundation. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in 2004 by University of East Anglia for services to the community and made CBE in the 2012 New Year’s Honours List for services to Football and Suffolk Charity.

Paul Barry-Walsh.

After leaving IBM in 1986, Paul Barry-Walsh founded Safetynet followed by Netstore in 1996. In 2001 he founded The Fredericks Foundation which has become one of the UK’s leading micro-finance organisations, funding 2 disadvantaged individuals per week. Paul is involved in a number of start-ups, and was granted the Queens Award for Enterprise Promotion. In 2008 he received the Beacon Award for Creating Giving. In 2009 he was given the CNBC/FT European Philanthropist of the Year Award, and won the Entrepreneur County Inaugural Award for the Entrepreneur’s Entrepreneur in 2011.

We will be growing our board over the coming year.